Char Kuay Teow

My Favourite Malaysian noodle dish - Fried wide rice noodles

My Favourite Malaysian noodle dish - Fried wide rice noodles

 

Char Kuay Teow is possibly the most perfect lunch-time noodle dish. Every self-respecting Chinese Coffee shop (which serves lunch) will feature at least one vendor who specializes in this dish. They are also availalbe commonly at markets, night markets, hotels and restaurants. The wide rice noodles cooked in an extremely hot wok with the right mix of sauces and cockles make it my first lunch dish everytime I go to Malaysia. It is also what I have for lunch on my last day.  Now it is a ritual and it is also a favourite with the husband and Andrew. If only I could recreate it???  I paid close attention to the hawker during my last visit to make sure I can copy his style.

