Roast Turkey with Fresh Herb Butter – Thanksgiving 2009

I think it was always meant to be a coming together of cultures.  At the Dunn’s this year, it was a time to be with close friends and enjoy each other, give thanks to God for our many blessings and enjoy delicious, non-traditional food.

ROAST TURKEY – with fresh herb butter

I really despise dried-out turkey – so I tried everything to keep it moist. Also, this is the second turkey I have attempted, so I am not an expert by any means. I took some good advise from Martha Stewart and with the help of the Butcher at Fresh Market (local grocery store), I had the bird butterflied. Best thing I ever did. With the convection Bake setting, it took all of just 80 mins to cook the turkey to perfection.

I started with a fresh turkey (which really does help) and rubbed it completely with a compound butter mixture of butter, fresh parsley, basil and rosemary, salt and pepper. Preheated the oven and in went the turkey. I did have to cover the legs/wing with Reynold Foil wrap to ensure that it cooked and browned evenly.

It turned out to be a whole lot easier than I envisioned and the turkey was delicious!

Thanks to Christa for handling the carving of the bird.

