Easy Chicken Stew with White Wine

This  was supposed to be a quick chicken stew for lunch based on what I had in the fridge and it turned out to be absolutely delicious.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 6 pieces of chicken thighs (cut into small pieces)
  • I bottle of your favorite white wine
  • 2 cans of chicken stock
  • I large onion (sliced)
  • 4 cloves garlic (diced)
  • I jalapeno
  • 4 potatoes (diced)
  • 4 carrots (diced)
  • I bunch of scallions (diced)
  • 1/4 cup of olive oil
  • 3 tablespoons of butter
  • 3 tablespoons of all-purpose flour

Directions:

I love to marinade my meats no matter what I am cooking. So, if you have time, marinade the chicken with just a couple of tablespoons of olive oil, salt and pepper. Just letting the chicken marinade for an hour will really help the taste of the chicken.

In a large stew pot, start with the olive oil over a medium heat. Once the oil is hot, add the pieces of chicken to the pot. Try not to crowd the pot, it is important that all the chicken pieces are seared. Make sure all the chicken is nicely seared and brown (you may need to add some oil).

Next, just add the onions, garlic, scallions and diced jalapeno. Once the onions are soft, add 2 cans of chicken stock and the bottle of wine. Now, all it needs to do is simmer stove top. You may want to lower the heat and let it cook for at least 30 -45 mins so the alcohol cooks off.

In a small glass bowl, melt the butter and then add the flour. Mash it together and mix it into the stew. Let it simmer for another 10 mins.

(You can  leave out the flour and butter if you need to. I would imagine that the stew would be just a little thinner – I am sure it will still taste great!)

Salt and pepper to taste.

Serve it while it is hot with some Naan bread. It was a great hit with my family.

