Pan-Fried Lemon Tilapia

Inspired by Sole Meunier Recipe by the Barefoot Contessa

Well, it is really cold and I don’t really want to go out to the store for sole. I do have a dozen Tilapia fillets and am wondering if I can make it work. Stay tuned.

Well, it worked! At least according to Jeff, the husband.

Tilapia served with Couscous

First, I heated the oven 200 degrees and placed my 3 plates in there. To warm the plate so the fish stays warm longer. Brilliant trick and it worked perfectly.

Prep:
– Washed and dried off 6 Tilapia fillets with paper towel
– Squeezed 6 lemons for the juice (remove seeds)
– 3 tablespoons of lemon zest in a bowl
– Finely diced 1/2 bunch cilantro (I think you can use parsley)
– Placed 1 cup of all-purpose flour in a wide bowl. Added 2 tablespoons salt and 2 tablespoons of freshly ground pepper

Directions:
Heat 1 stick of unsalted butter in a large skillet. I used my beautiful All Clad fish skillet but I am sure any wide skillet would do. You don’t want to crowd the fish, so make certain there is plenty of room.
I then dredged my fish fillet in the flour. Once the butter starts to brown, place the fillets on the skillet – be sure not to crowd the fish. Let is brown for 2 minutes. Turn it over. Pour the lemon juice into the skillet and add the lemon zest as well. Let it cook for around 3 mins. Make certain that it is browned (which it should have).

Remove your warm plates from the oven and place the fish on it. Pour excess sauce on the fish, sprinkle cilantro or parsley.

You can serve this with just about anything – pasta or couscous.

It actually turned out to be quite delicious. I would adjust the butter, salt and pepper according to your taste.