Lemon Cake with a Strawberry Lavendar Syrup Topping

Lemon Cake with a strawberry lavender topping

I was at the Farmers Market when I ran into someone I know (A real gourmet cook), who mentioned that she was making a lavender Syrup for her strawberries. The Farmers Market had been taken over that day by what appeared to be a plentiful harvest of strawberries. She pointed me to the recipe. Now, that got me thinking and I thought that the strawberries would be perfect served over a delicious Lemon cake. It was brilliant and a great addition to my summer dessert options.

STEP ONE: LEMON CAKE

– I just bought a Duncan Hines cake mix for Extra Moist Lemon Cake and made the cake according to the directions. I know this is technically cheating but hey …. the cake was delicious. Let the cake cool.

STEP TWO:  LEMON SUGAR

Mix in bowl, 1/3 cup sugar and 1 tablespoon of lemon peel and blend it well.

STEP 3: LAVENDER SYRUP

I know this sounds complicated but I was amazed at how easy it was.

Bring 1/2 cup sugar, 1/2 cup water, 2 tablespoons honey, and 2 teaspoons dried lavender blossoms to boil in heavy small saucepan over medium-high heat, stirring until sugar dissolves. Reduce heat to medium and simmer until lavender flavor is pronounced, about 3 minutes. Strain syrup into small bowl. ( You can buy lavender blossom in the dries herbs and seasoning section of any specialty market like the Fresh Market or Whole Foods.)

STEP 4: 2 -3 lbs STRAWBERRIES

The strawberries need to be cleaned and sliced into a large bowl. Add the lemon sugar – start adding a tablespoon at a time and adjust according to your taste. I had plenty of leftover sugar from the recipe just my strawberries were already exceptionally sweet. Add the lavender syrup a tablespoon at a time and toss the strawberries. Once again, i only used a few tablespoons of syrup and did not use it all.

SERVING:

Cut a slice of the lemon cake and place on plate

Top it with the strawberries which have been tossed in the mixture. You can drizzle some lavender syrup on the cake if you like and serve with some whipped cream if you like.

This dessert is sure to be a hit! I used the leftover lemon sugar and lavender syrup in my tea. It was another delicious combination.

