Summer Shrimp & Crab Salad

This has to be one of the best summer salads that I have ever made. It is a hit anytime I serve it. I typically make it when we are home since it is best when served chilled. It can be easily made ahead of time and left to chill in the fridge. It is incredibly easy to make!

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb of salad shrimp (can be easily found in a neighborhood market. It is already pre-cooked)
  • I can of crab (you can find this in Kroger or a specialty market like Fresh Market or Whole Foods). Typically pricey. Salad can also be made without the crab.
  • 1 avocado – sliced
  • I cup of fresh parsley – shopped
  • 2 lemon
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 2 -3 tablespoons of good quality mustard
  • 1 bell pepper sliced really thin
  • I tomato – diced
Directions
In a small bowl, whisk together the olive oil, juice from 2 lemons and the mustard. Add a tablespoon of salt to the mixture. Set aside.
In  a large bowl, combine the shrimp, crab, tomatoes, bell peppers, avocado and the fresh parsley. Add the vinaigrette to the large bowl and toss gently. 
That is all there is to it. Let it chill in the fridge for at least 30 minutes before serving.

 

