Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal

Every now and then you stumble upon a recipe so simple, so delicious and reasonably healthy – yum.  I ran across the recipe originally on http://www.thegraciouspantry.com/clean-eating-pumpkin-pie-oatmeal/. As always, I made a few modifications to suit my lifestyle , my pantry and my taste buds. The results were amazing. My breakfast guests have declared it to be a Favorite and since it takes no more than 15 – 20 minutes – I love making it. I am aware that I have added sugar and cream to my recipe to make it richer than intended. But, it is amazing with the added cream.

If I am making oatmeal of any sort, I am making it at least with milk and not water. I can always adjust my serving size. Once again, this suits my taste buds. And also probably why, I am constantly joining Weight Watchers – sigh. A tale for another day.

INGREDIENTS

  •  1 cup Dry Oats (I have used both old-fashioned rolled oats as well as quick rolled oats – it works well either way)
  • Milk (use instead of water to cook the oatmeal)
  • 1/2 cup Pumpkin Puree or Pumpkin Pie Mix (The pumpkin pie  mix gives it a darker color and of course, makes it sweeter)
  • Salt (A couple of pinches of salt )
  • 2 tsp Pumpkin Pie spice (if you use the Pumpkin Pie Mix you will not need to add this)
  • 1/2 cup chopped pecans
  • Cream for serving (optional)
  • Pure Maple Syrup (please use the real and not the processed if you can 🙂

Directions:

  • Cook the oatmeal by following the recipe on the packaging for stove top cooking. For richer oatmeal, use milk instead of water. You will have to add a little more milk than water and adjust it based on what kind of consistency you like with your oatmeal
  • It typically takes no more than 5-8 minutes for the oats to cook.
  • Lower your heat to the lowest setting and gently fold in the pumpkin puree (or the Pumpkin Pie mix)
  • Stir and make sure the pumpkin is evenly mixed in. Keep stirring so it does not get stuck to the bottom of the pot
  • If you used the Pumpkin Puree, this is where you want to add a couple of tablespoons of Maple syrup and mix it in with the oatmeal to sweeten it
Serving Directions:
Serve in small bowls, top it with some chopped pecans, drizzle some maple syrup and add a dash of cream
Hope you enjoy this simple breakfast treat. Great for the weekends and even weekday morning. My family and friends love it and I always tell the kids that it is the breakfast version of a pumpkin pie.
