Chocolate Cake with Chocolate Ganache topping

This has to be my favorite chocolate cake – ever. And, guess what? It is semi-homemade. I tried making several chocolate cakes from scratch and to be perfectly frank – it has never been as moist as this. So, I highly recommend this cake.

I typically make the cake, let it cool for an hour and then top it with the ganache.

Making the Cake:

I use the Duncan Hines Triple Chocolate Cake Mix (http://duncanhines.com/products/cakes/triple-chocolate-decadent-cake-mix) Just bake it following the directions on the box.

Making the Ganache

I love chocolate ganache. I have tried several different ganache recipes and this seems to be what works best for me in terms on consistency. Now, your ganache is only as good as the chocolate you use to make it.

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup heavy cream
  • 1 cup chocolate – finely chopped

Directions for making the ganache

Don’t worry. This is super easy.

Step 1: Finely chop up the chocolate. I use a combination of dark and semi-sweet. I use either Ghirardelli.com or Scharffen Berger. Place it in a medium-sized glass bowl.

Step 2: Start warming up the heavy cream in a saucepan. As it starts to simmer, just before it comes to a boils, pour it into the bowl. Let it stand for 10 minutes and then, whisk it until all the chocolate is blended in and your ganache is smooth and quite lovely in texture.

Step 3: Pour it over your cake. I always place it on either a cake plate or cake board before I pour it.

