Squash and zucchini with Parmesan

 

Part of my commitment for the New Year is to serve as many healthy, vegetable dishes to my family as possible. I don’t think I liked my vegetables as a child but I absolutely love it now. I love the textures and taste of many different kinds of vegetables. In fact, I really don’t eat salad dressing – seems a pity to hide the taste of real veggies.

This is a very easy recipe – perfect for a week day meal. You can serve it as a side dish or toss it with some pasta for an entree.

INGREDIENTS:

1 yellow squash (Sliced)

1 zucchini  (Sliced)

2 heirloom tomatoes (quartered)

2 garlic cloves (Diced)

Basil (handful diced)

Olive Oil

Fresh parmesan cheese (for serving)

 

Directions:

Heat the oil in a skillet.

Add garlic. Once it browns, add the squash, tomatoes and zucchini. Spread it out on the skillet and do not overcrowd it It should brown quite beautifully. Make certain that there is enough olive oil in the skillet. Turn the vegetable over to brown the other side. Add the basil to the skillet and lower the heat. As soon as the vegetable soften – 10 – 15 minutes or so, you can turn the heat off.

Sprinkle parmesan cheese and serve.

This is a really simple dish and it tastes great the next day. My son really likes it and that makes it a win in my books.

