South Indian Cilantro Chicken Curry

I am asked daily by friends and colleagues for an easy but exotic curry recipe. It is so easy for me to come home from work and quickly throw together some rice and curry that is never occurs to me to post the recipe to my blog. But here it is – a very simple, quick but tasty weekday curry.

The secret to great curry is grinding your fresh ingredients. My poor mother tried to drum that into my head but I never paid much attention to it until now. And, she is right. I typically just grind my fresh ingredients in a blender or a food chopper and it makes a world of difference.

Ingredients:

  • 2 Ibs of Chicken (boneless thighs or breasts)  – cut into small pieces
  • 1 cup of fresh cilantro
  • 1/4 cup fresh ginger
  • 1/4 cup diced up fresh garlic
  • 4 shallots – sliced
  • I red onion sliced
  • 1 -3 jalapenos sliced
  • 1 cup coconut milk or 1 1/2 cup plain yogurt
  • 1/4 cup of Garam Masala

DIRECTIONS

Step 1 : Prep Ingredients

This step can save you a lot of time. Slice and dice all your fresh ingredients.

Sliced Jalapenos for some heat

Sliced Red Onions to get the Curry started

Step 2: Grind It!

In a blender or Food processor, combine and grind the garlic, ginger, shallots, jalapeno and cilantro. Add 1/4 cup of water to make it easier to blend it. It does not have to be smooth. You will end up with a bright green mixture that should smell great (if you like cilantro).

STEP 3: Cook the Curry

– Heat 1/4 cup of vegetable oil in a large pot or Dutch overn

– Add your sliced onions  and  the chicken. Stir it and wait for it to brown .

– Go ahead and add the entire green mixture

– Let it simmer for around 10 – 15 minutes

– Add your Garam Masala and mix it in well

– Add either your coconut milk or plain yogurt to the pot. Please pick either one and not mix the two!

(This is a special note to my friend Kyle: Kyle, do not mix the 2. Pick one. And, only use plain yogurt. Vanilla or any flavored yogurt will NOT work).

– Let the mixture simmer and cook for 20 – 25 minutes. Ensure that there is enough liquid in the pot. You can always add additional water. At this point, the curry should be finished. Serve with Basmati Rice.

Chicken cooking stovetop mixed in with the bright green cilantro mixture

Serve warm and you can always garnish with cilantro

Note from the Kitchen:

This is really easy recipe for an everyday curry. You need to adjust the spice level by adding more or less water and of course, controlling the number of Jalapenos to the mixture. Let me know if you have any questions and I will be happy to answer them.

The Aftermath of Cooking Curry –  Making your kitchen smell better

As much as I love my curries, I hate my kitchen and house to smell like Curry. And anyone who cooks curry knows that the smell will permeate through the house. It smells wonderful when you are getting ready for dinner but no one really, wants to wake up to a curry smell. So here is an easy recipe to get rid of the curry smell in your home.

Ingredients:

1/4 cup of whole cloves

2- 3 cinnamon sticks

3- 4 cups of water

slices of lemon or an orange (optional)

Directions:

Combine there ingredients in a pot and let the water boil for as long as you can. You can add more water if you need to. The cinnamon and cloves produce a wonderful smell that neutralizes kitchen smells. Of course, you will have to like the smell of cloves and cinnamon for this to work.

Let me know how you enjoy the curry.

