Saturday afternoon at Yew Dell Botanical Gardens

It was a brilliant weekend – which included a lovely Saturday afternoon at Yew Dell Botanical Gardens, in Crestwood, Ky. It was my first trip there, after living for over 12 years in Louisville, I am embarrassed to say. We ended up buying a family membership and wondering what took me so long to get there. Between soccer games, homework and home stuff, we forgot to stop and look around our community.

Yew Dell Gardens was full of trees and bushes and plants and Bonzai – not to mention frogs and more frogs and then more frogs. I was convinced the frogs were multiplying while we were there.Yes, I know it is a Botanical Gardens and this is expected!

The sign as your enter the gardens.

The sign as your enter the gardens.

A real castle in the middle of the gardens. I would love to host a party here!

A real castle in the middle of the gardens. I would love to host a party here!

Father and Son at the Castle …

IMG_2095

Great areas to walk around and explore …

Gorgeous landscape and plants that I have never heard of.

Gorgeous landscape and plants that I have never heard of.

We were enjoying a Zen moment …

IMG_0839_2

Colorful trees flowering in the Spring

Beautiful leaves everywhere

Beautiful leaves everywhere

Me and My Boy

IMG_0849_2

This is a perfect place for photographs.

Outdoor sculptures were a nice surprise

Weathered lady guarding the trees.

Weathered lady guarding the trees.

“The year’s at the spring,
And day’s at the morn;
Morning’s at seven;
The hill-side’s dew-pearled;
The lark’s on the wing;
The snail’s on the thorn;
God’s in his Heaven— 
All’s right with the world!”
–  Robert Browning, The Year’s at the Spring

Full blooms just in time for Derby weekend.

Full blooms just in time for Derby weekend.

Crawling through bushes and vines. I guess you are never too old for that.

How sweet is my boy.

How sweet is my boy.

This was in a fortune cookies once. I am not sure what it really means.

No shade tree? Blame not the sun but yourself.– Chinese Proverb

Amazingly twisted

Amazingly twisted

IMG_0867_3

IMG_0871_2

Brightening the days

Lovely, vibrant flowers.

IMG_0877_2

IMG_0885_2

FROGS! FROGS! AND MORE FROGS!

IMG_0889_2

Boy Heart Frogs.

Boy Heart Frogs.

IMG_0893_2IMG_0905_2

We turned a corner and ran into a FOOD TRUCK.  Johnny’s Diner Car.http://www.johnnysdinercar.com/  The people were really nice and the food choices was great. You can meet up with them – check out their schedule  on the website.

IMG_2104

Food Truck

Food Truck

Andrew stayed close the frogs.

Note: All photographs courtesy of Best Husband ever, Jeff Dunn.

If you have a few hours free, check out this well-kept secret.

