A visit to Happy Trails Farm in Marrietta/Dallas, GA area – Chickens, Horses and more chicken

We were coming from our vacation in Savannah and St. Simon’s Island and decided to extend it by spending the night in Atlanta with Sam and Lewanda Hardy. Lewanda thought Andrew would enjoy visiting her niece’s farm in the morning. This turned out to be a wonderful way to spend the morning. Andrew had a fantastic time hanging our with their dog, chasing their chickens and collecting eggs. He did not want to leave and I must say, I do not blame him.

They also have these beautiful wood carvings on their farm – gorgeous details carved into tree stumps. This was my husband’s focus as he photographed them from every angle.  It made me want to buy a farm – really, it did. And then, I thought about all the hard word that was required to run a farm and quickly talked myself out of it.

Andrew and Lewanda at the  entrance of the farm with The Cowboy.

Andrew and Lewanda at the entrance of the farm with The Cowboy.

They have a stable on the property with their horses and plenty of room for whatever event. You have to share the space with the chickens but really, that is not a bother. I love the placement of all the signs along the building. Andrew kept talking about American Pickers and how they would love these signs.

They do riding lessons and these are the most beautiful and friendly horses.

They do riding lessons and these are the most beautiful and friendly horses.

If there is a chicken wandering around, I guess it has to be caught!

If there is a chicken wandering around, I guess it has to be caught!

Andrew spent his time chasing the chickens around the farm. I guess you don’t get too old for that. I also think he was a bad influence on their dog who decided to help him herd. Those little chickens were freaking out. He caught them, would pet them and start all over again! Sigh. He is usually quite mild mannered!

This lovely lot getting fed.

This lovely lot getting fed.

Nice and cozy and warm in her little room.

Nice and cozy and warm in her little room.

Lewanda teaching Andrew the finer points of collecting eggs.

Lewanda teaching Andrew the finer points of collecting eggs.

I kept my distance. I am a little afraid of birds in general and I would never venture in to collect eggs. Seems pretty suicidal to me …. I am always afraid they are going to gang up on me and peck away. Might be my guilty conscience.

995443_10151766294758658_1975327999_n

Andrew is a natural farm boy quite unlike his Mum and Dad!

Thanks so much Lewanda for a wonderful outing. We had such a fantastic time.

